top of page
  • Writer's pictureJEMPJ Team

Eleanor's Going Home Story


 

Hello lovely readers,


Well my going home story is not all that interesting, because it’s not really a going home story at all, but rather a re-location story--I am still in Germany. I am originally from Chicago, USA, but as you guys may know, the US isn’t really dealing with this crisis properly. So, rather than head back to a land of chaos and limited medical supplies, I decided to stay here in soft, cushy Deutschland. I am, however, not on campus.

My boyfriend, Robert and I, retreated quite early to his family’s house in Muenster, where his mom, dad, and dog, Fine, live. To be quite honest with you guys, I am living in luxury. I have the privilege of taking Fine on long walks through forests and fields each day, I get half of my meals cooked for me-- and that means home-cooked! I am sure if you are also another college student, like us, you know the pains of cafeteria eating...but I am fortunate enough to eat warm, flavorful, nutritious meals pretty much all the time, sorry to brag about it.

But anyways, I have everything I could ever need here. Additionally, I feel very lucky to have the chance to be in such a loving and generous home. While my story of packing up my room and heading to Muenster is not that exciting, I want to draw your attention to the fact that a lot of us have it good.

I know many of people who are struggling during this time; working long hours, seeing family members become sick, becoming sick themselves, and so on. The world has been flipped on its head, and we are all trying our best to just be okay. In these times of COVID-19, nothing is predictable, nothing is certain, but for those of us that can be out of harm’s way, we should be extremely grateful, and that’s exactly how I feel.

Times of Corona may not be exciting, may feel even restricting or make you feel claustrophobic. I get this, we all get this. But what is important now, and really always, is that we take what we have and see it for what it is. You may not be able to go to every party, enjoy lunch with your friends, or attend your graduation. This sucks, not just for you, but for many! But what you DO have, or what we all have, is a chance to reflect on who we are, what we are doing, and what we should be grateful for. This is what I have been doing, and I feel in times of COVID-19, when I can identify the good aspects of life, I can more clearly see the positive in the not-so-great factors of life.

There is a lot of sadness and injustice in the world, scary news and upsetting events, but I cannot control the actions of others. I can only control myself and what I do for others, and I have chosen to see the brightness in these dark times, and it is doing me wonders. I hope I can inspire you to do the same.


Much Love,


Eleanor



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Olivia Neumark's Going Home Story

Hey guys! So, a friend and classmate of mine, Olivia, has been generous enough to write and share her going home/being home story with us! What a treat! So without further to do...here's her story! He

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page