top of page
  • Writer's pictureJEMPJ Team

From Amsterdam to Hong Kong

This week we have a guest who is talking about her impressions and personal experiences during this crazy time. Atiya, a friend from university, originally coming from India, planned on going back home. But this plan went like probably all of our plans for March and April 2020, not the way we wanted them to go. But read for yourself about her story and emotional rollercoaster of the last couple of weeks and enjoy the pictures she has taken along the journey.


From Amsterdam’s oldest and usually busiest street to an almost corona-free, masked Hong Kong. A week after arriving in Amsterdam to stay with my boyfriend, I had a flight ticket to India. On the morning of my flight, I found out I couldn’t fly due to a country-wide lockdown in India with just 4 hours of notice. A few days later, I arrived in Hong Kong. Upon arrival I was given a wristband with a tracker which is used to make sure you stay within the premises of your home for 14 days of self-quarantine.

I have now been here alone for over a month. A few of the emotions I’ve dealt with in the past month are anger, frustration, and confusion. Emotions many people have probably shared. Anger and frustration mainly at how Europe was dealing with the virus while knowing how well Hong Kong had been handling the situation for months. The difference was complete transparency from authorities and a common mindset of the public of how to face this issue (probably because they’ve also dealt with SARS here before).

Confusion because I’m not necessarily sure what to do with all the freedom I have here, while still living in solitary. Perhaps go for a hike or to the beach, explore rock pools, or simply stay at home and work (because it’s whack we still have exams), and continue capturing moments on film.


Atiya Ansari

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Olivia Neumark's Going Home Story

Hey guys! So, a friend and classmate of mine, Olivia, has been generous enough to write and share her going home/being home story with us! What a treat! So without further to do...here's her story! He

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page